About Us

The Greek Archaeological Committee (UK), thereafter referred to as GACUK, was founded in London in the autumn of 1986 on the 150th anniversary of the Greek Archaeological Society at Athens, with which it is associated. GACUK was founded by the late Mrs Matti Egon-Xylas who served as Chairman from 1986 until 1993 and from 2003 until 2013. In addition to its Founding, Ordinary (including Corporate) and Corresponding members, GACUK benefits from the support of some seventeen Patrons, most of whom are distinguished British Academics.

The Patrons are:

  • Mr Anastasios P. Leventis, CBE
  • Prof Anthony Snodgrass
  • Prof Catherine Morgan, OBE, FBA
  • Prof Cyprian Broodbank, FBA
  • Prof Dame Averil Cameron, FBA
  • Mr Gerald Cadogan
  • Lady Hunt
  • Prof Sir John Boardman, FBA
  • Prof Judith Herrin, FSA
  • Dr Lesley Fitton
  • Prof Maria Iacovou
  • Prof Peter Warren, FSA, FBA
  • Prof Lord Renfrew
  • Mr Robin Lane-Fox
  • Prof Robin Osborne, FBA
  • Sir Roger Tomkys
  • Prof R.R.R. Smith
  • Lord Sutherland

Press Office of the Greek Embassy in London - February 2018 Newsletter